[Book Tag Tuesdays] Fellowship of the Ring Book Tag

Lord of the Rings is one of my all-time favourite trilogy of movies–a timeless classic and still so quotable. Watching the extended version is like wrapping myself in a warm blanket ❤ I own the version of the book triology spliced into 7 books (which allegedly is how Tolkien intended it to be read) which I haven’t gotten to yet, but one day!

I found this tag at The Corner of Laura and it was made by Nandini of Unputdownable Books.

GANDALF – A BOOK THAT TAUGHT YOU SOMETHING

I can’t believe how few ratings this book has gotten! This is  nonfiction book about the creation and maintenance of the Birzeit University, one of the first universities to open in the West Bank of occupied Palestine. Thankfully, it’s still standing unlike every university/school in Gaza, blown to bits by the IOF. It’s short but chockful of interesting tidbits about the history of the occupation and the crazy situations that the staff and students hadn’t to go through to protect the sanctity and reputation of the university in the face of military harassment. I didn’t even know it existed and I don’t feel like it’s hyped up as much as it should be so please go check it out.

FRODO – A BOOK THAT LEFT A MARK ON YOU

speak

I’ve mentioned this book a few times on this blog. Speak tells the story of Melinda, a young girl starting high school after surviving a rape over the summer and follows her as she deals with the impact of her assault. This book stuck with me for such a long time because I was Melinda’s age when I read it and it opened my eyes to the pervasiveness of rape culture and isolation. It’s a book I’d always recommend to a younger reader.

LEGOLAS – A BOOK YOU FINISHED IN ONE SITTING

Despite being short, I was expecting to take my time with this book as I found Orwell’s writing in 1984 very slow moving. But boy was I wrong; I gobbled this book down and re-read it again because I absolutely loved it. It freaked me our more than 1984 and I think it’s still one of Orwell’s best work. This is a classic novel about farm animals rising up against their oppressive farmers and taking control of the farm–only for the pigs to start acting like the old farmers. Of course, this is an obvious allegory to fascism and specifically, Stalin’s Russia, but I think Orwell did a great job of keeping the tension high, though you know where it was going.

GIMLI – A BOOK THAT FEATURES AN UNLIKELY FRIENDSHIP

The friendship between Hilary (a tomboy who’s only desire in life is to set sail as a fearsome pirate) and Claire (her girly best friend who’s only desire in life is to be a lady of high society) is a special treat throughout the three books! It absolutely delights me that despite their differences, they are ride or die for each other and respect one another’s wishes.

MERRY – A BOOK THAT PLEASANTLY SURPRISED YOU

It wasn’t like I was going into this book with low expectations but when everyone kept treating it like a boring dark academic novel set in an arts university and following the downward spiral of a theatre class enacting Shakespeare plays, I had my own expectations going into it. But I found myself liking it more than I expected and happy with the ending!

PIPPIN – A BOOK THAT MADE YOU LAUGH

If you know, you know.

BOROMIR – A BOOK/SERIES THAT YOU THINK ENDED TOO SOON

Although some find this series about two girls living in an empty post-apocalyptical world very slow, as it breaks away from others in it’s genre by not featuring fights with other groups for survival or dealing with environmental issues, but I feel like I’d be willing to read about their quiet but insightful adventures forever.

SAM – A BOOK WITH MEMORABLE SIDE CHARACTERS WHO STOLE THE SHOW

While Tristan is a fun protagonist, the side characters in this trilogy are just as strong and interesting! The series follows young Tristan Strong as he’s pulled into a world of African and African American mythology and helps to stop evil from infecting his own world. I especially loved the version of Keelboat Annie and Anansi in the series!

ARAGORN – A GOOD BOOK WITH A BAD/AVERAGE COVER

This was such a great dystopian classic and while I know there are several different covers, I just can’t believe such an atrocious cover as above exists!

GOLLUM – A BOOK THAT HAD GREAT POTENTIAL BUT DISAPPOINTED YOU IN THE END

No one’s more disappointed than me that this book set in an alternate historical China about Wu Zetian (the only empress) piloting a mecha with her two boyfriends as support just didn’t live up to my own hype for it, especially as I love the author’s other works!


I Choose You:


Where to Find Me

twitter
goodreads
email

sweaters.and.raindrops@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “[Book Tag Tuesdays] Fellowship of the Ring Book Tag”

Leave a comment