Reading Habits Book Tag

bible-biblia-book-bindings-1112048

With a plethora of book tags that I’d like to do in the upcoming months, I thought I’d take a short break and share something personal about me on this blog, which is something I’d like to do more of whenever I get the chances! I found this tag @ The Bibliophile Girl.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Typically in bed before I go to sleep ’cause I feel so cozy. Also on the sofa in my basement, if it’s the middle of the day and I’ve got nothing ahead of me.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I have so many bookmarks so whenever I get the chance to use them, I do! Historically, I’ve used just about anything from leaves to receipts.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?

If I have to stop, I try to do so at the end of a paragraph, ’cause I know I won’t be able to remember where I stopped if I was in the middle of one.

Do you eat or drink whilst reading?

Not usually, though sometimes I’ll have hot chocolate or tea next to me if I really want to be comfortable on colder days.

Multitasking: Music or TV whilst reading?

Absolutely not! I get so easily distracted when there is constant discussions around me. My only exception is if the music is lyric-less and quiet.

One book at a time or several?

Several. I haven’t gone one book at a time since elementary school! It’s the quickest way I can find crack through my TBRs and discover which books/series to DNF.

Reading at home or everywhere?

I’ll read anywhere if I’m taking a break (ie, I won’t read in the middle of class or while I’m working), but I prefer at home.

Read out loud or silently in your head?

Read silently in my head most of the time, unless I find myself re-reading a paragraph or certain sentences and the words are just not sticking into my mind. Then I read it aloud to see if it’s me or if the sentences really don’t make sense.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I’ll read very quickly through tense, exciting scenes and I’ll skip paragraphs if the action is getting repetitive or I’m getting second hand embarrassment. I rarely skip dialogue, even if I’m bored with it.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I try to keep my book pretty and pristine, but sometimes I get a neck ache from straining to read between the pages, so I have no problems cracking a spine.

Do you write in your books?

No, I like to keep the pages clean and for books I’m not wholly interested in, it’s easier to donate them when they are pristine.


If you haven’t done this short and sweet book tag already, I tag you! I’d love to see how all of your habits match up to mine.

1 thought on “Reading Habits Book Tag”

  1. Pingback: July 2019 Wrap-Up

Leave a comment