Entry 206: Once We Were (The Hybrid Chronicles #2)

Author: Kat Zhang
Genres: Fiction ; Young Adult ; Science Fiction ; Dystopia ; Romance ; Fantasy ; Paranormal ; Contemporary
Publication: September 13, 2013 by The Borough Press
Pages: 352
Format Read In: Audiobook

Summary from Goodreads (GOODREADS LINK)

“I’m lucky just to be alive.”

Eva was never supposed to have survived this long. As the recessive soul, she should have faded away years ago. Instead, she lingers in the body she shares with her sister soul, Addie. When the government discovered the truth, they tried to “cure” the girls, but Eva and Addie escaped before the doctors could strip Eva’s soul away.

Now fugitives, Eva and Addie find shelter with a group of hybrids who run an underground resistance. Surrounded by others like them, the girls learn how to temporarily disappear to give each soul some much-needed privacy. Eva is thrilled at the chance to be alone with Ryan, the boy she’s falling for, but troubled by the growing chasm between her and Addie. Despite clashes over their shared body, both girls are eager to join the rebellion.

Yet as they are drawn deeper into the escalating violence, they start to wonder: How far are they willing to go to fight for hybrid freedom? Faced with uncertainty and incredible danger, their answers may tear them apart forever.

Trigger warnings: Bombing ; Violence ; In-universe discrimination ; Child abuse (not on page) ; Experimentation on children (not on page)

My Review:

2024 is the year I pick back up the series’ that I started in the past and liked enough to want to pick up the sequels! I started off with an early 2010s YA series. Not a fan of these covers, though.

What I Liked

  • I was way more invested in Addie and her arc, including her romance, than Eva, which makes me wish we had an Addie POV.
  • I liked that we expanded more on how the hybrids in the world are operating outside of America. It showed how isolated America is, which is an interesting political dynamic.
  • There were some new hybrids introduced that Eva and Addie befriend, who have interesting dynamics with them and their friends. I liked that we explored the complexities of how each hybrid feels about the world they live in and what they personally believe could change their circumstances.

What I Didn’t Like

  • This was a much slower book and suffered from second book syndrome. I was halfway through and nothing had happened.
  • Although I agree with Eva’s more radical takes, I found her brushing off Addie very annoying and selfish, which is called out in the book.
  • The book failed to ask a lot of logistical questions about how hybrids exists on an every day basis (like how does pregnancy work?).

Conclusion

This wasn’t as enthralling as the first book but I did find myself involved, especially when it came to Addie.

My Rating: Raining


Where to Find Me

twitter
goodreads
email

sweaters.and.raindrops@gmail.com

Leave a comment