Entry 53: Sorcery of Thorns

42201395

Author: Margaret Rogerson
Genre:
Fiction > Young Adult > Fantasy
Published/Publisher: June 4th 2019 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 456
Format Read In: Audiobook

Summary from Goodreads (GOODREADS LINK)

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather. She hopes to become a warden, charged with protecting the kingdom from their power.

Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire. Elisabeth’s desperate intervention implicates her in the crime, and she is torn from her home to face justice in the capital. With no one to turn to but her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn, and his mysterious demonic servant, she finds herself entangled in a centuries-old conspiracy. Not only could the Great Libraries go up in flames, but the world along with them.

As her alliance with Nathaniel grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught—about sorcerers, about the libraries she loves, even about herself. For Elisabeth has a power she has never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined.

My Review

TW: Verbal hinting of sexual assault towards mentally ill people and prisoners; description of night terrors; graphic depiction of a panic/anxiety attack; women not being believed and attributed to hysteria

Continue reading “Entry 53: Sorcery of Thorns”

Entry 52: Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1)

25760792._SX318_

Author: Tara Sim
Genre:
Fiction > Young Adult > Fantasy
Fiction > Young Adult > Romance > LGBTQA+
Published/Publisher: 1996 by Signet Classics
Pages: 144
Format Read In: Paperback

Summary from Goodreads (GOODREADS LINK)

I was in an accident. I got out. I’m safe now.

An alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, where a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

A prodigy mechanic who can repair not only clockwork but time itself, determined to rescue his father from a Stopped town.

A series of mysterious bombings that could jeopardize all of England.

A boy who would give anything to relive his past, and one who would give anything to live at all.

A romance that will shake the very foundations of time.

My Review

TW: Depictions of PTSD, brief scene of one character forcing a kiss on another

Continue reading “Entry 52: Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1)”

Entry 51: Above the Ether: A Novel

41587717

Author: Eric Barnes
Genre:
Fiction > Science fiction
Published/Publisher: June 4th 2019 by Arcade Publishing
Pages: 240
Format Read In: Ebook

Summary from Goodreads (GOODREADS LINK)

A mesmerizing novel of unfolding dystopia in a world very like our own, for readers of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station 11 and Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood.

In a future very like today, Above the Ether follows six sets of characters moving through a landscape and a country just beginning to show the signs of change. A father and his young children fleeing a tsunami after a massive earthquake in the Gulf. A woman and her husband punished endlessly for the loss of both their sons in the wake of addiction, watching a fire slowly burn closer to their family home. A brilliant investor, assessing opportunity in the risk to crops, homes, cities, industries, infrastructure, working in the silent comfort of her office sixty floors up in the scorching air. A doctor and his wife stuck in a refugee camp for immigrants crossing the border. Two young men working the rides in a roadside carnival, one escaping a violent past, the other a racist present. A man who runs a chain of nondescript fast-food restaurants.

While every night the news alternates images of tsunami destruction with the baseball scores, the characters converge on a city far away, where the forces of change have already broken—a city abandoned, left to be scavenged as the levee system protecting it slowly fails—until, in their vehicles on the highway that runs through it, they witness the approach of what looks to be just one more violent storm.

My Review

TW: Pedophilia, descriptions of violence, description of an epileptic attack, racism, descriptions of consensual sexual activity

Continue reading “Entry 51: Above the Ether: A Novel”

Entry 50: We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1)

WHTF_JKT_2p.indd

Author: Hafsah Faizal
Genre:
Fiction > Young Adult > Fantasy
Published/Publisher: May 14th 2019 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 472
Format Read In: Audiobook

Summary from Goodreads (GOODREADS LINK)

People lived because she killed.
People died because he lived.

Zafira is the Hunter, disguising herself as a man when she braves the cursed forest of the Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the king. If Zafira was exposed as a girl, all of her achievements would be rejected; if Nasir displayed his compassion, his father would punish him in the most brutal of ways.

Both are legends in the kingdom of Arawiya—but neither wants to be.

War is brewing, and the Arz sweeps closer with each passing day, engulfing the land in shadow. When Zafira embarks on a quest to uncover a lost artifact that can restore magic to her suffering world and stop the Arz, Nasir is sent by the king on a similar mission: retrieve the artifact and kill the Hunter. But an ancient evil stirs as their journey unfolds—and the prize they seek may pose a threat greater than either can imagine.

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame is a gripping debut of discovery, conquering fear, and taking identity into your own hands.

My Review [SPOILERS AHEAD]

TW: Mentions of child abuse Continue reading “Entry 50: We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1)”