How To Be A Writer: The Map Is the Territory

I was talking with a student who asked, “How did you get from here to there?” And I wanted to tell her because she was a good writer and a hard worker and I wanted to make the map clearer for her. But I found I couldn’t tell her the story of the stories without also giving her the map of my life in those years. Before my first books were born they were with me everywhere, growing babies, part of my body and my every move.

Source: How To Be A Writer: The Map Is the Territory

This is a reblog. If you would like to ‘Comment’ or ‘Like’ this post, please go to the original post to do so.

How To Be A Writer: The Map Is the Territory

Leave a Reply

