So You Want to be a Creepy Writer…

I don’t mean the type of writer that sits in the corner at parties and writes secret character sketches for every person in the room. (Actually, who am I kidding? We’re all that type of writer. Inn…

Source: So You Want to be a Creepy Writer…

This is a reblog. If you would like to ‘Comment’ or ‘Like’ this post, please go to the original post to do so.

Some advice on how to add ‘spook’ to your writing! I really don’t like horror/suspense movies, mostly because a) I startle easy and there are too many jump scares in this genre, and b) I get nightmares so easily that it’s ridiculous. But despite that, I know how horror/thriller/suspense relies heavily on the visualization of whatever freakiness has been introduced so I couldn’t imagine how writers translate this into words. Advice like this helps me learn how authors manage to do it and maybe introduce some of my own brand to my writing, even if my novels aren’t even in the realm of horror.

So You Want to be a Creepy Writer…