Entry 12: Passing the Torch

24972267.jpg

Author: L.L. Sanders
Genres [according to Goodreads]:
Novella
Dark
Published/Publisher:  February 15th 2015/LLS Books
Pages: 51
Format Read In: E-Book

Summary from Goodreads:

Deep in the Arizona desert rests a house of secrets … a house of utter horror … a house that must burn to the ground.

Mesa has secrets. Twelve, twenty, fifty secrets. Over the years she’s learned to bury them, a collection of rotten seeds stowed away in the hidden parts of her, rooting deep down in that place where deception and sorrow are stored. Waiting, for that single ray of light to set them free.

And now those secrets are surfacing, as Mesa begins to question the life she’s so carefully cultivated. How far would you go for someone you love? How much pain would you endure to keep your family together? And what if the person you love was the source of your pain?

My Review [SPOILERS AHEAD]:

“[But] have I ever been an oridnary girl with an ordinary life, or was my urge to be normal greater than my reality?” Mesa; Passing the Torch, L.L. Sanders

*I received this book for free from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

[Triggers for this novel: description of murder, rape, incest]

I will reviewing a novel I received through Netgalley for the first time so I am super excited!

I had never read a novella until a couple of months ago when I picked up a free copy of Gerald Durrell’s “Donkey Rustlers” which I had enjoyed. Now I feel myself more inclined to pick up a novella. It’s nice to take a break from novels with all their subplots and complications, and read something straightforward. I also liked the cover for this book. It’s not particularly pretty but I’m used to seeing covers with only a few items that stand as representations; there aren’t a lot of books out there that have a scene from the actual storytelling as the cover. But it’s the perfect cover for a novella.

The book is separated by chapters that go back and forth between the present and the past. With only one narrator, this didn’t cause much confusion as it did for me when I read “The Girl on the Train”. In the present, Mesa is confessing to murders she and her father committed at their cottage which they vacation to. In the past, she is a young girl, with each chapter going from 8 years of age, to 10, and so on, and who is watching all this horror surround her, skewering her mind. Sanders does a great job of describing Mesa’s feelings, from guilt to anger to numbness, in such a short period of pages. Sentences and scenes flowed well, and the twist at the end is truly horrifying, to say the least. Overall, a fantastic novella.

My Rating: 4/5

Save

Save

Save

Entry 12: Passing the Torch

Leave a Reply

