Race in YA Lit: Wake Up & Smell the Coffee-Colored Skin, White Authors!

In a new series entitled Y.A. for Grownups, The Atlantic Wire posted an article exploring The Ongoing Problem of Race in YA. Like the title states, race in YA isn’t a new problem, nor is it g…

Source: Race in YA Lit: Wake Up & Smell the Coffee-Colored Skin, White Authors!

This is a reblog. If you would like to ‘Comment’ or ‘Like’ this post, please go to the original post to do so.

Anyone who knows me, or has read my reviews for books, knows race-diversity is a huge thing for me. While I strongly advocate for the diversity of all sects of identity, race has always been a big one for me, and it’s hard for me to explain why that is. Anyone who knows me also knows I love YA books. It’s probably the genre I mostly find myself moving towards in bookstores and libraries. I find great imagination in this genre and a richness in other genres (like fantasy and horror) within YA. So this article really hit home for me, as I’m becoming more and more aware of the sad lack of race-diversity, the lack of support for race-diverse books, and the poor attempts at race-diversity by well-meaning authors. Please take a look at this, and other resources like this, if you are a white author, or an author of colour attempting to write a character of a different race.

Race in YA Lit: Wake Up & Smell the Coffee-Colored Skin, White Authors!