Entry 2: The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)

15803761

Author: Julie Kagawa
Genres [according to Goodreads]:
Young Adult > Fantasy > Urban Fantasy > Supernatural > Paranormal > Vampires
Science Fiction > Dystopia > Apocalyptic > Post Apocalyptic

Romance > Paranormal Romance
Language: English
Published/Publisher: March 26th 2013/Harlequin Teen
Pages: 48
Format Read In: Paperback

Summary From Goodreads:

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.

Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for…again.

My Review:

Blah story. Blah heroine. Blah characters. Blah everything. It wasn’t totally awful but I would never recommend this book to anyone. Honestly, I picked it up knowing it was yet another vampire story but kind of hoping that it would be different (especially since I was told it was a “fresh new take on the whole vampire tales”–which, yeah it was but don’t let that fool you) and, not going to lie, I was pretty excited to find a WOC (a Japanese-American women, in this case) as the main character rather than the same generic white girl.

I guess this book sure taught me a lesson: regardless of how diverse and different a story may appear, YA culture is YA culture, regardless. Which of course means the same cheesy, boring, unoriginal romances (with Zeke, the beautiful, blonde, kind, selfless, fearless, strong, perfect, uber-human white boy with some warped Daddy issues; hello sir, haven’t we met before? In the millions of other YA books I’ve read, perhaps? Yes, yes we have; and how are you not dead yet?), “tough” heroines who don’t have much to show for their strength other than biting sarcasm and the couple of times she’s bared her fangs and her cool-ass sword (that katana was wasted), ridiculous female-female fighting over a man (where the other girl is OBVIOUSLY a bitch for no real reason and stands so little of a chance that you can’t actually call it a love triangle) which I am SO unbelievably over, and a plot that struggles to be more complicated than it really is and just ends up losing you at some point.

The fact that Allison only gets whinier and more Zeke-centered in the next books makes me shudder.

The side characters themselves, I could explain their whole personalities in one sentence and that is not a good thing. They are honestly all caricatures of some overused stereotypes; I personally judge a book a lot by the characters, so that was a huge disappointment.

The one character I did enjoy was Kanen, Allison’s sire who seemed like a character with a lot of potential, and I did like the way the authoress described the settings, from Allison’s hometown to a desolate Chicago. And despite having to read it more than once, I did also sort of like the idea of the virus, its history and the idea of the rabids, zombie-like monsters who are a threat to humans and vampires alike.

But even the positives couldn’t make me stop from feeling like I was dragging myself through mud just to finish the book. So I’d skip this.

P.S. Also, apparently vampires cry blood…PLEASE.

RATING: 2/5

